Off Topic A place for you CBR junkies to boldly go off topic. Almost anything goes.

Riding in bad conditions: How well does your bike handle it?

Search this Thread

Old 03-04-2007, 03:00 PM
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Riding in bad conditions: How well does your bike handle it?

I just recently switched from riding a 1983 Yamaha Maxim 750 with a full touring kit to a 1996 Honda CBR600 F3. I have ridden my Yamaha in all weather conditions; some light snow, ice, thunderstorms, hail, high winds, and once in front of a tornado (long story there...didn't mean to). Granted, I don't like that kind of riding and I'm usually white knuckled and swearing the entire time. I am by no means an expert rider with only 20k miles under my belt, and I probably deserve to be missing a few body parts from riding when I shouldn't.

So, with the new bike, I'm a little fearful of how it will take the conditions my old Yamaha went through. Where I'm at, we get a LOT of high winds. Has a bike ever been just blown right off of the road? I had been told by someone else that sport bikes are more sensitive to bad road conditions, so no more winter riding? Am I doomed to now be only a fair weather rider?

Tell me about how your sport bikes handle bad conditions. I have a particular interest in the CBR600's.

Old 03-04-2007, 03:30 PM
Default RE: Riding in bad conditions: How well does your bike handle it?

I rode mine every day last summer.. rain or shine.. just have to keep your head on and not get stupid and it'll be fine... if it's midly windy I've never had a problem, but never rode in high winds... I wouldn't ride in icy conditions or a tornado or nothin... and it's still not going to be nearly as good as a touring bike... but don't worry and just pay attention...

Old 03-04-2007, 03:42 PM