Off Topic A place for you CBR junkies to boldly go off topic. Almost anything goes.

Part out or fix up and sell.

Search this Thread

Old 03-22-2011, 03:27 PM
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Part out or fix up and sell.

Hey guys I'm a newb for this forum, but I need some advice. I have an 04 f4i thats in pretty decent condition considering it has been crashed. It def needs a new gas tank, front rim and tire, stator cover, front fairing and visor, and shifter in order to ride. To look good, needs all new fairings and crowls, new clutch cluster along with horn cluster, gas tank hole cover, some new fluids, and alot of tlc of course. Now is it worth it to fix it up, or part it out, for everything else is perfect. Only about 7k miles on her.

Old 03-22-2011, 03:37 PM

Well did you buy it crashed or did you crash it yourself and how much did you pay for it? If you want the bike youre probably looking at at LEAST $1000 on the low end to fix it up. If you get all new stuff youre looking at about $4-600 for fairings, you could prob find a front wheel and tire or wheel/tire/rotor combo on ebay for $2-300, $1-200 for the gauges, you can get a cheap gas cap that doesnt use a key for like $30, you could prob get a stator cover anywhere from $20-50, and theres a whole left clip-on with the clutch and all controls on ebay for $80 right now, otherwise just the light and horn switch controls you can get for about $50 if you dont need all that. As your bike sits now i probably wouldnt pay more than 2k for it. So do some math and decide whats better for you or if you want it or not.

edit: here are some links for you if you decide to fix it up in the near future....

http://cgi.ebay.com/ebaymotors/F4i-C...ht_1048wt_1165

http://cgi.ebay.com/ebaymotors/2001-...s#ht_500wt_956

Last edited by nickp123; 03-22-2011 at 03:40 PM.
Old 03-22-2011, 04:27 PM