Off Topic A place for you CBR junkies to boldly go off topic. Almost anything goes.

Lost because of a skill

Search this Thread

Old 10-24-2006, 02:09 AM
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Lost because of a skill

I am new to riding bikes, all together I put about 2500 miles, 600mi of which on my 06 cbr 1000 that I bought two weeks ago . On last sunday's afternoon I went to a road about 2 miles long with some twisties on it. It has two lanes going each way with a concrete divider in between and with pine trees on a side. So I rode there a couple of times working on my cornering skills. Before making a U-turn I noticed a Porshe Boxter with a guy and a girl on the pasenger seat. When I came to the next light(before entering the twistie rode) he was there also. On the green he started to push his car ,pretty much to the limit, trying to leave me behind. I was a little surprised and excited at the same time. I smoke these Boxters on my STI any day on any road like nothing, and here he was trying to race my bike which seemed ridiculous. Anyway,I was not opening the throttle untill may be 60mph going along with the car. Then opened up and he was way behind untill I approched the first turn where I had to brake hard....To make it short he won the race, I could caught up with him after the all turns. At the stop light I told him that that was nice and that I'm still learning. He just had that grind on his face like him and his car really did well.
It frustrated me a bit, I don't over rate my skills, I considered myself a newbee in riding, however that was a dissappointment in myself. I really want to improve my riding.... Any good place to start??? Thanks.

Old 10-24-2006, 03:17 AM
Retired Moderator ans All Around Good Guy
Default RE: Lost because of a skill