Off Topic A place for you CBR junkies to boldly go off topic. Almost anything goes.

Looking for advice on transporting a bike in the back of a truck

Search this Thread

Old 05-08-2009, 09:30 AM
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Looking for advice on transporting a bike in the back of a truck

Im picking up a new 08 1000rr in PA tomorrow and Im a little nervous about loading and unloading the bike. I have never done it before and Id hate to drop my brand new bike.

Do you guys have any pointers?

Should I drive it up or push it up?

Do you think this ramp will work fine? Im thinking of picking it up on the way down to PA. http://binghamton.craigslist.org/rvs/1152851064.html They said its about 20" wide.

Any help would be appreciated.

Old 05-08-2009, 09:49 AM

FYI... that's a good deal on the ramp.

Old 05-08-2009, 10:03 AM

Its always easier to use two ramps to load and unload. One for the bike and one for you to walk up on. Never just ride it up. If there is a hill or steep driveway you can get away with not having a ramp. Depending on the bed you may have to angle it to get the gate to close. I always put mine in the back, put it in gear and have the kickstand down. I put a piece of 2x4 lumber under the stand to take away some of the lean and then strap it down. I use the clipons for the front. Use ratcheting straps but don't make then too tight. Leave room for the suspension to do it's job. If you have a long drive check it periodically. Check it a couple miles after you leave and make sure it's all snug.

Old 05-08-2009, 10:12 AM

Cool, Thanks for your advice. Ill have to look for another ramp. Do you leave the engine on and feather the gas letting it drive itself up or do you simply push it?

On the way down does it matter if I sit on it and ride it backwards or should I stand on the side again working the break?

Old 05-08-2009, 10:27 AM

With my F4, I parked the truck on a steep hill, which leveled the ramps out a little bit.