Off Topic A place for you CBR junkies to boldly go off topic. Almost anything goes.

Interesting day.. almost too much.

Search this Thread

Old 04-20-2007, 04:12 AM
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Interesting day.. almost too much.

Keep in mind I'm brand new to riding.. and don't know much about bikes.

But anyhoo, I had today off so I pretty much rode most of the day. Well, I drove up to an intersection, and just pulled up next to some guy on a harley (he was all tatted up etc.) We were both turning right, so as the light turned green I gave him the go, seen as how he pulled up to the stop light first. But he waved me to go first.. so I did, and then he comes out of nowhere going at least double my speed and cuts me off, probably about 1 foot from my bike. Scared the crap out of me and almost lost control. My question is, is there some kind of beef between riders? I heard not to ride alone in this city from someone but didn't really believe him.

Days not over.. I decide to go for a night ride. I see fire trucks/numerous cop cars going the opposite direction of me, so I figured the streets were mine! No traffic whatsoever. I'm cruising along at an average speed of 90 or so and pull up to a four way stop light. I look in my mirror and of course I see red/blue lights flashing. ("F%6$@ going through my mind, I'm going to jail..) I pull up in to the wallmart parking lot, the cop comes out yelling "What are you doing? etc". "Sir, umm. I.. I don't know, just riding". Usually I can smooth talk fairly well when it comes to cops. Well, I lucked out on this one. I was wearing ripped jeans and a sweatshirt (I plan on getting leathers once I get the money I assure you) but I also had on a reflective belt wrapped around me(on base rule for the military), and of course my helmet. He clocked me going about 30 over the speed limit. Somehow I got off with a verbal warning!