Off Topic A place for you CBR junkies to boldly go off topic. Almost anything goes.

Insurance quote

Search this Thread

Old 05-05-2012, 03:33 PM
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Insurance quote

So my bike was vandalized and i brought it into a shop for a quote. The bike is a 2001 cbr600f4i. They quoted it at 3600 dollars and blue book came up to be 2600. I am afraid they will total the bike and i know my bike is worth more than 2600. I have never done anything with insurance before so am looking for some advice in what to do in this situation. On the quote they put a new gas tank which was 622 dollars which is not needed as there is only a tiny tiny chip on it as well as the windscreen and some other misc things. Could i call the shop and get the quote adjusted. The removal of the tank and windscreen would put it back down in range of the kbb value.

Any thoughts appreciated

Thanks

Old 05-05-2012, 03:36 PM

Just looking around on craigslist the average price for this bike is much higher than kbb value. Im not sure what the insurance company goes off of but i feel the 3600 is right in that price range where it could go either way.

Old 05-05-2012, 03:50 PM
Received 3 Likes on 3 Posts

If the shop does the work, they are going to replace anything you say was damaged with new OEM parts. Add in the labor and yeah, your bike is going to be totalled and the insurance is going to offer you kbb value. Btw, the insurance will have a upper limit of a % of the bike's value that they'll pay before totalling it out. Usually 70%-80%. So the shop will have to come under that % for their estimate to avoid getting totalled