Off Topic A place for you CBR junkies to boldly go off topic. Almost anything goes.

I have a starting problem!

Search this Thread

Old 05-18-2010, 08:51 PM
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default I have a starting problem!

I have this starting problem and im new to bikes, and this forum stuff... well the problem is, the bike was running fine when i got it and then all the sudden it didnt want to start, it seemed as tho it was the battery so i got a new $45 at walmart i didnt charge it before putting it on (mistake i know) but im starting to think its the alternator, cause my lights act up sometimes, when i try to start it i get a lot of clicking sounds coming from the battery area and from the relays, also i got upset so i just left it alone left it there the next day at night i went to go look at it again went to go start it and it started up took about 4 to 5 seconds holding the button down and it started up, then i shut it off and back to the same clicking sounds =/..... can someone help me out

Old 05-18-2010, 09:02 PM
Received 3 Likes on 3 Posts

Well first out is welcome aboard! Next, chillax dude It's not major till you know its major.

It sounds like you have a loose connection somewhere. Hard to really say without really diagnosing things. Things you should prolly check before grabbing the voltmeter are:
  • Battery connection
  • Starter switch
  • Starter relay
  • Fuses (including the master fuse)
  • Ignition
  • Any splices in the wire harness

A loose or poor connection can cause starting problems. Your lights acting up seem to point in that direction

Old 05-18-2010, 09:36 PM
Received 1 Like on 1 Post

Sorry to ask the obvious but you did charge it rite?

Old 05-18-2010, 09:39 PM