Off Topic A place for you CBR junkies to boldly go off topic. Almost anything goes.

Got a major scare today...

Search this Thread

Old 05-02-2008, 07:44 PM
Retired Moderator
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Got a major scare today...

I had a career scare today. Actually it started yesterday. My District manager calls out of the blue and asks me what I am doing, and says he needs to take me to lunch tomorrow. In three years he has never done that. With the economy so slow, my C- results in slinging backhoes, dozers, scissor lifts and the like, and my stores spectacular inability tohit our budget, I was sure I was getting fired. It kept me up all last night tossing and turning. I felt sick to my stomach allmorning andwondered what I was going to do for a living. What was I going to tell my wife...I wouldn't have a truck anymore, I wouldn't have a house anymore, I wouldn't have a life anymore. So about noon he calls and says he is on his way over from the next town down I-5. It took him an hour and a half to go the thirty miles and that has to have been the longest 90 minutes of my life. So he picks me up and we get to the restaurant. He says that he can tell I am nervous, and I explained how I haven't had a lick of sleep or peace since he called me yesterday. It has been so slow at work, that theylaid off1/3 of our crew and I have had to be in the store three days a week to help out, and in the field only two days a week. That is three days a week that I am not putting money in my pocket. He tells me that he is going to get someone else to work at the office and is giving me a bigger territory (one that is growing like crazy). He did say that I have to prove myself or I could verylikely get the axe. He said I could go back to hourly and be off the hot seat, or I can bust my butt out in the field and prove why they hired me at the position. I decided to stay on the hot seat for the high risk high reward option. I could very well be posting how I lost my job in si