Off Topic A place for you CBR junkies to boldly go off topic. Almost anything goes.

Gimme a "Break"

Search this Thread

Old 03-04-2007, 07:09 PM
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Gimme a "Break"

I know some of you are getting or have purchased new bikes. Its going to be getting warm sometime soon be me(hopefully) so my question is
how did you "break in" your new bike? I know there is different veiwpoints on this topic but i would like to know what YOU did. Im going to follow the honda manual but it only talks about the first 300 miles really...and the first oil change.
This is my first time with a new bike so i was just a little conserned.
Thanks

Old 03-04-2007, 10:27 PM
Default RE: Gimme a "Break"

I took it easy for about 600 miles, but I was in the same boat as you. I just didn't have any experience breaking in a sportbike engine. After 4300 miles she's still running great, so I musta dun sumi'n right.....

Old 03-05-2007, 01:21 AM

After 4300 miles she's still running great, so I musta dun sumi'n right.....
If your bikeis not running greatat 4K mile it's got serious issues.
Proper engine and transmission break ins require proper heat cycles. Before you start really ride it allow the engine/trans to heat up to normal operating temp. No wide open throttle launches, easy upshift/downshifts, vary engine rmps (all the way uo to redline)and gear selections ( use all gears equally).Basicaly don't treat it rough but don't baby it (too much) either.

Old 03-05-2007, 02:34 AM

Yea im gonna go through all the gears and vary the rpms and hopefully it will all be good!
There really shouldnt be any problems i guess i was just thinking about it to much. With modern day
sports bikes they make them to last i trust Honda!!!

Old 03-05-2007, 02:46 AM