Off Topic A place for you CBR junkies to boldly go off topic. Almost anything goes.

ear plugs

Search this Thread

Old 08-24-2006, 08:07 AM
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default ear plugs

a cautionary tail..... i've been riding bikes for (blimey) 31 years and last year i noticed that i was starting to struggle to pick out conversations in a noisey environment. A subsequent hearing test showed that i had some high frequency deficiency. The tester's second guess was that i was a motorcyclist! Anyway to cut a long story short i now use earplugs for all but riding in town.

I know some of you will say it's just old age.......................The good news is that my hearings not bad enough to need anything (medical) doing.

Old 08-24-2006, 10:03 AM
Default RE: ear plugs

I am twenty years old I am the same way. I don't know what did it to me but because I have only been riding motorcycles for 3 years I am guessing they are not the cause. Maybe listening to music at full blast so that I can hear it on my bike was what did it.

Lucky that it didnt happen to you a long time ago. Look on the bright side now ignoring annoying people is going to get a lot easier.

Jesse

Old 08-24-2006, 11:28 AM
Very Honorable Most Senior Member :)
Received 1 Like on 1 Post

I've used earplugs whenever I'm on the bike for a long time now. There isn't much hearing left above 8,000 cps, and I'd like to keep it. I use them when driving my car also. The '98 Civic is really noisy at highway speeds. In fact our Dodge diesel pickup is easier on the ears on the highway than the Civic. Less high frequency noise.

Old 08-24-2006, 11:45 AM

yep! my wife just doesn't believe me

i've done the loud music thing (still do) but apparently that is not as constant abuse of the ear drums as the bike. BTW i have always riden with a good full face helmet.

Old 08-24-2006, 11:49 AM

I wear earplugs for everything but the shortest ride.