Off Topic A place for you CBR junkies to boldly go off topic. Almost anything goes.

Charged for careless driving?

Search this Thread

Old 02-27-2008, 12:41 AM
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Charged for careless driving?

I am a college student 19 years old who got into an accident on a four lane highway on international speedway (after the daytona 500). Unfortunately, I did not have registration and plates on the bike because i drove it from jacksonville to daytona beach. The person in front of me stopped short because the turning lane (5th) overflowed into the far left lane. I was not driving fast and was not following very close to the car. Unfortunately, I was not able to stop in time and hit the car on its rear right bumper. I didn't turn and avoid because there was a car on my right side. Well I apparently flipped over my bike because my helmet has a few new scratches on it. Would this be a legit careless driving. In addition, I completed a MSF course on October. What should I do?

Old 02-27-2008, 01:03 AM
Default RE: Charged for careless driving?

i dont get the question?

Old 02-27-2008, 02:02 AM
Retired Moderator ans All Around Good Guy

i dont think it would justify "careless driving" it might infer that you were driving un safe for conditions.. basically cause you didnt stop in time so you must've been to close, is how they might view it. you will have to check with local law enforcement and dmv to knwo for sure.

Old 02-27-2008, 02:09 AM

Talk to the DA and plea for an infraction.

Old 02-27-2008, 03:51 AM

YES, the charge can stand. If I were you, I would plede guilty and ask for the courts leanancy(sp)OR get a public defender invovled and hope for a reduction. Go to court prepared, maybe by taking a drivers improver's clinic (what they call them here in VA), dressing nicely, and being respectful.

Sorry to hear and Goodluck!

Old 02-27-2008, 04:08 AM
Banned