Off Topic A place for you CBR junkies to boldly go off topic. Almost anything goes.

-1,+2

Search this Thread

Old 11-02-2006, 01:18 PM
Retired Moderator
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default -1,+2

So I am a novice rider and I've seen signatures and threads with this gearing ratio (?)...I was wondering what is the benefit? What are the drawbacks. I'm new enough to where I'm sure I don't know any better. Some input is greatly appreciated.

Old 11-02-2006, 01:27 PM
Default RE: -1,+2

well, its just like the rear end gear ratio on a car, you can favor the ratios more towards acceleration, or top speed, either one adversely affects the other. also, gearing - in the front or + in the rear, you will run @ a higher rpm for any given mph, and your gas mileage will suffer. + in the front or - in the rear will be opposite. as of right now im @ -1+3, speed @ 15krpm in 6th gear is 137 actual, not indicated (168 w/o speedohealer, lol)

Old 11-02-2006, 01:53 PM
Received 1 Like on 1 Post

heres what ive always heard

for every tooth of difference in the back it changes your top speed by like 3mph, so 2 up would drop ya by 6,
for every tooth of dirrerence in the front its 10 mph, so 1 down youd loose approx. 10 more. meaning your bike would top out at roughly 145.....now if you were to go up in the front and down in the back itd be the opposite.

so the only drawback is that its gonna throw your speedo off (who cares) and you lose some top end, but after reading some of your posts i doubt you see 150mph very often.....new sprockets will be like 25 for the front maybe 75 or 80 for the back, and youd hafta get a new chain which im not sure how much that costs...labor at a dealership would be like 50 bucks, which is how much it cost me
so if you got the extra cash, go for it, youll love it, im going 10 up this winter [8D]

Old 11-02-2006, 03:16 PM
Retired Moderator ans All Around Good Guy