New Member Area New to CBRForum? Stop in and introduce yourself.

Total Newb - 06 F4i, Dropped 2x in 500 Miles - URGH!

Search this Thread

Old 08-28-2006, 02:30 AM
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Total Newb - 06 F4i, Dropped 2x in 500 Miles - URGH!

After spending some considerable time lurking and devouring books (MSF Guide to Motorcycling Excellence, Proficient Motorcycling, etc), I decided a month ago to finally take the plunge and signed up for an MSF class. While waiting for the week of the class, I settled on a new F4i as my first bike. Other options were the SV650S (didn't like the early 90s teal) or a Triumph Daytona 675 (too much bike for my skill level). For the record, I'm 33, married, no driving offenses or accidents for over 10 years. I've never ridden any sort of motorcycle, moped, scooter of dirt bike in my life.

After the first day on the range, I found that I really needed practice with the controls. Having always driven manual transmission, high-performance cars, I knew what I wanted/needed to do, but was having a time adjusting to using my hands for tasks normally assigned to my feet. Stalls, pretty poor shifts... all the things someone trying to drive stick for the first time does.

To get me the practice I felt I needed, I left after the first day of range practice, picked up the F4i a day early and drove it the 50 miles home. I've never been passed by so many cars in my life - I must have been the only one on the road doing the speed limit. I spent 2 hours tooling around my neighborhood, practicing clutch control, emergency stops, swerves, turns - everything we'd gone through in class.