New Member Area New to CBRForum? Stop in and introduce yourself.

Really, really new guy checking in

Search this Thread

Old 09-12-2012, 10:04 AM
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Really, really new guy checking in

OK, so.

Don't have a bike, but a friend of mine and I have decided to do some horse trading so I can get his '91 Hurricane. CBR1000F, I think it is?

The kicker it that is has a blown motor. Lucky for me, I'm an engine builder at a machine shop by day, so fixing it shouldn't be too bad. I hope.

The kicker-er is that I've never ridden a bike before. What could possibly go wrong on a bike capable of 160mph? lol.

I've been checking out the MSF site, if this goes though I'm going to be spending a good amount of time at some of their courses. If I were smart (and that has yet to be determined) I'd get a starter bike to play with while rebuilding the CBR.

Anyways...hello!

Old 09-12-2012, 10:36 AM
Administrator and MVN, March 2012/Oct 2013 ROTM
Received 117 Likes on 107 Posts

Welcome to the forum.
At least you wont fall off here....
If you can ride a bicycle and drive a manual car, you can ride a motorcycle. Good that you will take the classes too. You will learn everything that you need to get started there.

So, what makes you want to get into motorcycles?

Old 09-12-2012, 10:43 AM

Welcome to CBRF. I am also a fairly new rider and my first full time bike is also a 91 1kf. I absolutely love this bike. I can't seem to get enough riding time in my opinion. The wife may beg to differ. lol
If you respect the bike and it's power I personally think its a great starter bike. I have riden dirt bikes and we do a lot of quading here in Oregon. I am a big fan of speed but have been trying to keep in check on the 1kf. I have had it up in the triple digits a couple times but it was a long straight stretch with no in coming traffic so I could see whats coming. And no one else around to hurt other than myself. lol