New Member Area New to CBRForum? Stop in and introduce yourself.

Noob here from Tacoma Wa.

Old 09-14-2009, 05:58 PM
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Noob here from Tacoma Wa.

Hello all. Im fairly new to riding and new to honda bikes. I've been riding a 81 yamaha 750 seca for a couple months and after riding a few of my friends much newer sport bikes I decided I'd get one too. Ended up with a 07 CBR 1000rr last week. Got a really good deal on it too. 7000 brand new. 0 miles.

Unfortunately it didnt take me long to lay it down. A day and a half after I bought it I was riding on a pretty rough mountain road and midway during a turn at about 30-40 mph I hit a rock in the road. I Tried to slow myself down and ended up going outside the turn into some gravel. I saw the trees and ditch coming at me and pushed the bike down and away from me. I ended up with a few scrapes and bruises but nothing serious. Got right up. My bike got pretty lucky too I think, It did go off into the ravine but landed on a kind of ledge so it was only about 6 feet down instead of 15'-20' to the bottom. The plastics are all ruined, the left side fork cracked, the shifter and clutch lever both broke but that was it. Rode it home after a very nice girl towed it up to the road with her car.

It was burning oil on the way home quite a bit but has since stopped. I was thinking oil probably emptyd into the exhaust a little bit while it was upside down for a few minutes and then got hot and burned?? Does that make sense?

Anyways, I have already started ordering parts for it and have learned my lesson about mountain roads. I've started looking around a little bit in the forum and It seems like there is a lot of good info here. Thanks for reading and wave if you see me riding around in Tacoma Washington.

Old 09-14-2009, 06:41 PM
Administrator - Retired
Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts

WTH!!
Dam man, that sucks. I'm glad to hear you're ok, though.