New Member Area New to CBRForum? Stop in and introduce yourself.

Newbie lol

Search this Thread

Old 08-29-2009, 09:08 PM
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Question Newbie lol

Hey everyone my name is Eric and obviously I am new to the forum here. I do not currently own a bike BUT am soon going to be the proud owner of a new 2008 CBR 600RR. I have been driving dirt bikes and four-wheelers for the last 13 Years (btw im only 21) so i know the basics of how to ride one instead of some ppl how its their first time using a clutch with their hands lol

I also have some minor questions about the bike. For instance, I know u can get flush mounts for turn signals on the newer models but what about the brake light? do they make the mounts for those yet?

Also, I am thinking about lowering the bike almost instantly but am undecided right now. The reason being is that I am 5'-7" and I am not sure how well my short a$$ legs are going to reach the ground. I have heard of the "thinning of the seat" trick but not sure if I want to cut into my new baby.

I am sure more questions will be posted when I get her but for now that is all.

I am very excited to start learning more and more about street bikes as time goes on.

Cheers

Eric

Old 08-30-2009, 07:16 PM

Eric,

Welcome to the Forum and (soon to be) CBR ownership! Take a look into your local Motorcycle Safety Program. It will really help you transition from the dirt to the street. Plus, it may even help with your insurance cost. Being a 21 year old male with a sportbike can be a real bugger.

My buddy cleaned up the back of his bike with a tail piece like this: http://cgi.ebay.com/ebaymotors/07-08...=p4506.c0.m245
It looks pretty legit.

As far as lowering your bike, I would treat it as a pretty important decision. Unless you absolutely can't find a safe, comfortable riding position with the stock set-up. Anytime you change the physics of the bike, you're messing with how it was designed to be ridden. Just my two cents.