New Member Area New to CBRForum? Stop in and introduce yourself.

New Rider, What Bike to buy?

Search this Thread

Old 06-09-2006, 02:07 AM
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default New Rider, What Bike to buy?

I am a new rider, learned on a 250cc (two weeks in a lot, PA State Safety Program). I am looking at the CBR600 or CBR1000. Of course, I have no real experience, but I really like the CBR1000 (looks, felt Ok when I sat on it for about 30 minutes). I plan to ride it in a parking lot for about a month, before taking it on the streets etc. I am not looking to race, do trick etc. I am 35 and basically always wanted a bike, looking to go on back raods (there are many where I live) and wanted to get something that I liked to do casual riding.

I have gotten both pos and neg feedback about the CBR1000's power, speed coupled with my inexperience etc. I just wanted to get some more feedback before buying the bike. Thanks.

Old 06-09-2006, 03:54 AM
Default RE: New Rider, What Bike to buy?

My 1st bike was an F4I and I think it was a perfect first bike. It was fairly light, and very fast. I was able to keep up with most 900's or so beacuse with a F4 you can wack it full throttle and no worries about the front end comming up unless you clutched it or "bounced"it For me, that instilled ALOT of confidence beacuse a rear tire pushing out from under you when you arent expecting it is damn scary for a new rider.

Old 06-09-2006, 12:44 PM

Hello & Welcome!!

I learned on a 250 too....some men have a problem saying that....be glad you don't!

Old 06-09-2006, 01:04 PM

man, eddie that's a nice bike you have....

Old 06-09-2006, 01:17 PM