New Member Area New to CBRForum? Stop in and introduce yourself.

New Rider...

Search this Thread

Old 05-15-2008, 02:09 AM
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default New Rider...

So I am new to the world of motorcycles. I just finished my MSF riding class. I am going to get a used CBR 600 this weekend. Likely, a 2001 600F4i, or a 2004 600RR.

Does anyone have any suggestions as to what to look for in a used bike? I am kinda doing this on my own. I don't know anyone who rides. Although, I have met a few very friendly and helpful people in my MSF class and at the MotorSports store.

I am going this weekend to look at some bikes and was wondering what I should check out. And questions I should ask. I have done a ton of research on street bikes and feel like i know my basics. Basically, what I'm looking for is some friends who can guide me along the way. Everyone here seems exceptionally friendly and eager to help.

I CAN'T WAIT TO GET OUT ON THE ROAD!
Please let me know "what's up", so to speak....

Thanks a ton.

Nate

Old 05-15-2008, 02:45 AM
Received 10 Likes on 5 Posts
Default RE: New Rider...

hey Nate :-) ..welcome and good luck in your search ...I am sure a lot of guys will be along shortly to advise you ..my expertise kinda stops with my F3 bought new in 1998 .. after that I kinda got rusty but still know lots of the basics :-)

Jules

Old 05-15-2008, 05:07 AM
Banned

Start smaller for a year or so, maybe a couple of thousand miles. You will learn alot more on a smaller/less powerful bike than a newer 600. The problem is that a 600can sneek up on you, it will seem docile until it hits the powerband and it throws you into a corner to hot and you don't know what to do or god forbid you grab too much of either front or rear brake.