New Member Area New to CBRForum? Stop in and introduce yourself.

New Rider - 2006 CBR 600RR

Search this Thread

Old 02-16-2009, 12:13 PM
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default New Rider - 2006 CBR 600RR

I live in Barrie, Ontario, Canada and am new to riding and I just bought my first bike, a 2006 CBR 600RR. I'm fairley inexperienced, any tips???

Any CBR riders around my area??

Old 02-16-2009, 01:54 PM

i'm about 30 minutes south of you.. welcome to the site. a 600rr isn't a beginner bike man.. at all.. did you atleast take the saftey course.

Old 02-16-2009, 08:16 PM

Originally Posted by gonerippin
i'm about 30 minutes south of you.. welcome to the site. a 600rr isn't a beginner bike man.. at all.. did you atleast take the saftey course.

I've rode bike before but never a 600. This is my first bike and I just didn't want to get a 250 and out grow the bike after my first season of riding. I don't plan on riding this bike very hard until I have at least two years of experience with the bike. I do not plan on taking the course because mainly geard towards people with no experience riding bikes.

Old 02-16-2009, 08:24 PM

Originally Posted by Hangfire
Tips? Take a good MSF course, treat every car on the road as if it's driven by a total idiot who really doesnt care that your on the road and seems to posses an obscene desire to maim and/or kill you (they generally are). and dont get on the throttle or brake in the corners, in fact, until you get more time in the saddle stay off that bikes throttle as much as possible, not a very forgiving bike as far as mistakes go. Other than that, have fun and welcome.

Thanks for the advice man. I appreciate it. I'll be sure to lay off the throttle as much as possible and take it slow until I am comfortable with the bike and figure out how it behaves. any other advice you can give me would be much appreciated. Can't wait for the snow to go away!

Old 02-16-2009, 09:40 PM

Originally Posted by modaragamage