New Member Area New to CBRForum? Stop in and introduce yourself.

New from Oregon...

Search this Thread

Old 09-10-2008, 02:45 PM
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default New from Oregon...

Hey all,

Just wanted to pop in and say hello from Portland, Oregon. I'm new to this forum - but I've been reading it for a month or so. There are some great minds here with some good advice. Keep it up.

A little background:

I have been riding dirt bikes my whole life - currently own a 2006 CRF450R. I started riding street bikes about two years ago. My first street bike was a Harley Sportster 883. It was a good starter bike - but heavy as hell and not really my style. I have taken the Team Oregon safety class (equivalent to MSF?) with my wife before we started riding on the streets. I learned a million invaluable tips and lessons at that class - I'm glad I took it. I heard from many people that it's a waste and just go take the DMV test ... but I am glad I didn't listen to them. I had the Harley up until about 6 weeks ago. My wife and I both sold our Harley's. I ended up purchasing a 2008 CBR1000 (Black/Yellow - LOVE IT) and my wife got a Ducati Monster 696 (that bike is a blast to ride!).

I love the CBR. The power delivery is beautiful - nice and smooth. The comparison to the Sportster ... well, there is no comparison. I'm still in the "break-in" stage - getting my first service done next week when I hit ~600 miles. The bike is insanely full of power - I've heard it's a whole different bike above 8k RPM, but I haven't ventured that far yet. I want to ease into my transition. I (so far) don't have any complaints about the bike - but all bikes have their own little quirks.