New Member Area New to CBRForum? Stop in and introduce yourself.

New from New Orleans

Search this Thread

Old 12-26-2007, 01:10 AM
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default New from New Orleans

Hello.

I joined this site a couple months ago and am just getting a chance to look around.

I’ve been riding since 1990 when I bought a worn out Yamaha Seca. Had it for about two months when I stopped in the Honda dealership. They had a 1984 V65 Sabre (V4 and 120hp according to a recent article in Red Rider) in very clean original condition sitting on its center stand. The sales guy fired it up and it had a low aggressive tone. I bought it right then and soon realized how well Honda builds bikes. This was my also the first time I dropped a bike. It was amazing how far I slid when I wasn’t doing more than 20mph.

Sold the V65 to get a boat. Dumb, but a got more than what I had into it. Wish I still had that bike. I later bought a 1994 1100 Shadow. It was very comfortable. Now married, a used the excuse that I needed it for parking where I was attending school. Had that bike for a while when a little old lady, in an 80s Crown Vic, decided to use the shoulder of the road as the right lane. I spotted her just before I began to make a right hand turn (from the real right with my right signal flashing). Locked the real wheel, slid past my street and kept the bike up-right. Granny kept going. I then drove around the block to cool off before walking into the apartment and receiving an inquisition from the wife. Ended up stopping and talking to two New Orleans cops. One told me he handled an accident where the driver ran a stop sign and hit a rider. She REALLY BELIEVED that she had the right-of-way because she had four wheels and the biker only had two. So a got home, walked in to see my nine-month-old son and cleaned an old 4sale sine and put it on the bike out by the main street.