New Member Area New to CBRForum? Stop in and introduce yourself.

New to Motorcycles

Search this Thread

Old 04-02-2007, 11:20 PM
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default New to Motorcycles

Hey all, my name is William and I'm trying to get into motorcycles. I'm a freshman at James Madison University. Ihave a Honda moped, which I modified a little to get going to about 40 mph. I'm looking to upgrade to something bigger, like a good cbr as a starter bike. I figure any tips from you guys would be great. I'm alsotrying to get in a MSF course but it seems that they are all full through summer. Another issue is that my parents aren't too keen about the idea of a motorcycle. So any suggestions on persuading them would be appreciated. I'm only 19 so I know insurance will be a big part of this decision. I was thinking of using AAA or progressive, but that will be later. So, ideally, I want to get a Honda CBR F1 Hurricane, or maybe an F2. I figure with insurance, gear, motorcycle, and maybe some little things I'll be spending about 3 grand. Thanks again and I have to say this forum so far has been very informative.

William

Old 04-02-2007, 11:32 PM
Default RE: New to Motorcycles

Wow ! 40 huh ? sorry I had to get that out [>:]well, welcome, 1st thing you picked the right site, lots o good $hit here, sorry I can't help with the parent thing, see isI got a 19 year old boy, goin to ITT Tech out here in sunny So Cal, and I worry about him just driving in a car let alone riding a bike, only thing is time and show them yer "RESONSIBLE" and not some "IRRESPONSIBLE SQUID" and maybe they'll get over it.

Old 04-02-2007, 11:57 PM

Well as a side note I know here in Michigan, Progressive no longer offers a discounted price with proof of MSF course. Most companies do a 10-15% discount on your cycle insurance if you have the certificate of completion. So that's another thing to look into when you go to pick out insurance.

Old 04-03-2007, 12:07 AM