New Member Area New to CBRForum? Stop in and introduce yourself.

Search this Thread

Old 02-21-2016, 02:42 PM
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default New Member

Hello everyone.
I wanted to introduce myself. I picked up a 1992 F2 from a friend who's moving away. I paid $200. The bike was dumped in 1998 and has sat ever since. It came with all new plastics, the tank has been sanded too. I'm looking to do a street fighter build, possibly with knobby tires. Just wondering where I should start in terms of maintenance on a bike that's been sitting for so long. I'll be Changing the fluids obviously but past that, what other items should I look into? Electronics? Seals?... I'm a car guy with mechanic and body work skils. Thanks! I'm stoked on this project!
-Eric

Old 02-21-2016, 04:56 PM
Retired Super Moderator, Tin Star Man & Hurricane Saloon Prospect, ROTM Feb 2015
Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts

well well what`s this now, new F2 owners are signing up in herds! me like

First off welcome in! And second wow that`s a steal even for a ratter!

For a bike that`s been sitting for such a long time you`d proly need to take a look at little bit of everything. The carbs will most definitely need opening and a thorough cleaning, inspect the carb boots for tears and dry rot, replace if in doubt, an air leak through a tear will get you chasing your tail and losing your hair while trying to figure out why it doesn`t run right, as you said ALL fluids including absorber oil and brake fluids, the brakes are probly if not seized then at least sticky so you`d probly wanna take a peek at the brake calipers, since you`re doing a fighter you`re probly putting dirty bars on it so you`ll probly need longer brake lines so get braided steels while you`re at it, take the plugs out and give a generous spray of WD-40 into the cylinders before attempting to turn it as there probly is some rust (what kinds of conditions have the bike sat in?)