New Member Area New to CBRForum? Stop in and introduce yourself.

the new girl

Search this Thread

Old 12-06-2009, 10:57 AM
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default the new girl

Hi all...I don't have a CBR...yet...and am actually here for some expert advice. I've been riding on the back for about 4 years, finally in 2008 I took the MSF course and got my license, now I just need to find a bike! There is a 92 f2 with a 96 f4 motor for sale. I'm almost positive this is the same bike I saw for sale a couple months ago, so I'm not sure if someone bought it and is selling it already or if it is the same guy. Anyway, he's asking $1900, it has cracked plastic and he says the timing chain needs replaced, that it's the tensioners and the kit to fix it is only $18. I was also told that an f4 motor wouldn't fit in the f2, so I'm not sure what's up with that. From the picture it's not the prettiest bike in the world, which is fine with me since it'll be my first bike.

Sorry this is getting really long. I guess I'm just looking for some rider's experience with f2, is it a good starter bike? I was thinking about going to look at it today and see if he'll take $1600 or so if it looks alright. My boyfriend is tired of hearing me talk about bikes, but I was curious of some other opinions. Thanks for reading!

Old 12-06-2009, 12:33 PM
Admin Emeritus & MVN
Received 3 Likes on 3 Posts

Welcome to the board! If you have some mechanical skills then it might be a good deal for you. But I'll be honest, anytime I hear of "mod B" motor being crammed into "mod C" frame it kinda worries me. Won't cost anything to go look at it. Make sure he cranks it up and runs it around the block.

Good luck!

Old 12-06-2009, 12:54 PM