New Member Area New to CBRForum? Stop in and introduce yourself.

I need some help getting my license!

Search this Thread

Old 06-11-2006, 11:39 PM
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default I need some help getting my license!

I need some help. I just bought a bike last week, (hurricane 600). I just turned 17, and in CT if your under 18, you need a parents signature and permission to get a motorcycle license. It has been my dream since I was about 12 to get a street bike. My parents are very against me getting my license, since my mothers good friend died in a motorcycle crash, and my fathers friend is paralyzed for life from a motorcycle accident. They say that i will kill myself, and how dangerous motorcycles are. I am fully aware of how dangerous they are, and that alot of the time its not even the riders fault, but the fault of another driver. I have been riding dirtbikes for the past 5 years, and my parents are fine with that, but when it comes to the streets, its a whole different story.
Anyways, I wanted to ask for some some help. Does anyone know of any websites that have statistics on them about comparing motorcycle accidents to car accidents, and include information about DUIs, ect. I want to persuade them, and show them that alot of the crashes on motorcycles involve drinking, (if thats true) and that alot of people die in car crashes too. I want to show them the comparisons, hopefully they will help me out. If anyone has gone through the same situation as me let me know what you did to convince your parents to sign.
I appreciate all of the help.

Old 06-12-2006, 11:29 AM
Retired Administrator
Default RE: I need some help getting my license!