New Member Area New to CBRForum? Stop in and introduce yourself.

Hi!!

Search this Thread

Old 09-11-2012, 08:36 PM
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Talking Hi!!

Hello everyone,

I was thinking about purchasing a cbr250r or a cbr600rr. I am in desperate need for a means of transportation, but I'm a college student, and can't afford paying $300/month to cover car insurance. Am I doing the right thing buy a motorcycle, or should I just stick to public transportation and stop being a sissy?

Old 09-11-2012, 10:06 PM

price out motorcycle insurance on the cbr600rr first, even if its not required you will probably want comprehensive.
the 250 will probably cost you 200 dollars a year or less, 600 a year for full coverage. the RR will be 1200-3600 full coverage or higher if you are a first time rider.
insurance is good for new things in case they get stolen.
if you pick up used, i would go with the 250, do not buy a new one unless you are loaded for cash, if you like riding you will be selling it at a loss.
that is unless you never happen to test ride a bigger bike.. then ignorance is bliss...

bottom line buy a used 250cc, colleges used to be pretty cool about the ability to park a motorcycle anywhere.
And with how "green" everyone is, you think they would put parking up front.

Old 09-11-2012, 10:08 PM
Received 5 Likes on 5 Posts

Well, only you can decide what's right for you. ;-) In your position, I would look at the pros & cons of each, & then have a more informed decision. Really tho, w/a bike, you'd be able to make your own schedule & come & go as you please. Besides transpo, it would be a great source of relaxation & enjoyment...something much needed to relieve stress when necessary.

Welcome to CBRF!

Old 09-12-2012, 10:00 AM
Administrator and MVN, March 2012/Oct 2013 ROTM
Received 117 Likes on 107 Posts

Welcome!