New Member Area New to CBRForum? Stop in and introduce yourself.

Hey there, virgin lookin for advice

Search this Thread

Old 01-25-2009, 11:52 AM
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Hey there, virgin lookin for advice

Hi there, I joined this forum in the quest to find out as much info as I could to base my decisions on.
OK first of all, I am looking to make my first purchase of a bike and being new to the sport I need so help.
I made a decsion that I want a Honda and that I want a sport bike, so don't try to convince me otherwise.lol
I would be looking for a newer model that would give me lots of trouble free miles.
I'm 6'2" and 240 lbs, so fit is an issue. Also I'm new to this sport but have been riding quads, dirt-bikes and sleds since I was physicaly able to, so I learned quite well over the years that I first must get good before I get fast.lol
If anyone could give some opinions on what bike I should be looking forand any that I should avoid, please let me know.
P.S. I hope they don't cost as much as the sled to run.lol[sm=smiley29.gif]

Old 01-25-2009, 08:20 PM
June 2011 ROTM
Default RE: Hey there, virgin lookin for advice

im 6'3 and ride a 600. Its not too bad, but every now an again my leg will cramp up pretty bad. Im sure it looks retarded some big guy hanging his leg out side ways. oh well

Old 01-26-2009, 02:36 AM
Default RE: Hey there, virgin lookin for advice

Yeah I would have to agree with Steve, while I know quite a few guys who are 6' or better do ride 600's they usually have to modify themto make them comfy ie. new adjustable rear sets, bar risers.

I would actually try and find an older 1000f or even give the 1100XX Blackbird a try, it was kind of a heavy bike but it had plenty of power and it would fit someone of stature very well.

Old 01-28-2009, 05:56 AM

Wow thats some good info, I was looking towards a 600 because of being new to the sport, but if it doesn't fit, it is not going to give me a very good first impression of the sport.