New Member Area New to CBRForum? Stop in and introduce yourself.

helmets......

Search this Thread

Old 05-23-2007, 06:59 AM
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default helmets......

Hi everyone, I am a newbie and just bought a 95 cbr 600 in april 07.it came with a white helmet which fits but does not match. SO I understand D.O.T. approved and snell somewhat but what is the differance between a 700.00 and a 150.00 helmet. I know SUOMY, SHOEI makes a fancy airbrush for 600.00 but thats not what I want . I have looked into thh, fulmer ect. and found nice graphix for my preferance. I obviously do not want a 60.00 helmet that does not protect me in a fall. I am not just being cheap but I would just like to know If 350.00 +$$$ is for the name brand. I am clueless so if any one could help me that would be cool. I just don't want to go to the local cycle shop so a sales men can tell me 700.00 will save my life.and 130.00 is crap.I just don't want pressure, just my own taste in helmets so it goes with my bike. thanks for your input

Old 05-23-2007, 08:51 AM
Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default RE: helmets......

Go for wot feels comfortable, asking about helmets is like wot undies you wear? everyone has their own preferences. I have a Nolan (flip model, good if you wear glasses to) & another cheaper one (also flip model) for around town use, (as I sometimes leave it with the bike, I'm not going to be to shattered if its nicked) Both helemts suit, but there is a reasonable price difference between the two. Lot lids have special graphics on them, which can add to the cost. look for features that are usefull, like vents & so on. Buy a brand that is known, in case you need to replace the visor or something.
You don't have to spend a fortune on one. But you don't want to end up with a piece of crap either, like they say, its your head...........

Old 05-23-2007, 09:39 AM
Banned