New Member Area New to CBRForum? Stop in and introduce yourself.

getting a bike

Old 09-14-2011, 05:19 PM
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default getting a bike

I am new to Riding and just got my license. I love the f4i/rr's but they are out of my price range. I am looking now at 96-99 Honda f3. what are you thoughts bout an f3 and are carbs. pain to clean?

Sent from my Motorcycle iPhone app

Old 09-14-2011, 05:36 PM
Received 3 Likes on 3 Posts

Hey, welcome aboard.

F3 is a great bike to start with (aside from the fact it is a 600 which aren't the best bike for every new rider). Maintained well, properly stored in the winter (stabilized gas run through the system and the carbs run dry of gas) and you shouldn't need to pull the carbs every season. And if you don't... well, you'll get really good at doing to pretty quick

F3 is a heavier bike too, which will work in your favor as you get more experienced. Once you learn how to move her around and make her dance, when you do upgrade to a newer bike you'll be a lot more confident. Knowing that I used to throw my F3 into turns made me feel that my F4i would (and does) move with a mere flick

Old 09-14-2011, 07:10 PM
Received 5 Likes on 5 Posts

Welcome to the forum Taylor. "My motorcycle iphone app" - that's pretty good. ;-)

Congrats on your license. Don't get in a hurry to buy your bike or you might overlook something. Take your time & buy right.

'99 is an F4. Previous to that is the F3. Both are fine bikes. I have a 2000 F4.

Carb cleaning isn't too difficult. If you ride regularly, you won't have to do it very often either.

Good luck w/ your shopping! ;-)

Old 09-14-2011, 07:11 PM
2011 Ride of the Year

welcome to CBRF

i have a 98 f3 for my first bike, and i love it. the fact that it is a heavier bike, the strong winds dont bother me as much as the lighter bikes.

Old 09-14-2011, 10:01 PM