New Member Area New to CBRForum? Stop in and introduce yourself.

First bike EVER!!! 99 CBR F4 in Charlotte, NC!

Search this Thread

Old 09-13-2008, 04:31 AM
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default First bike EVER!!! 99 CBR F4 in Charlotte, NC!

So I have been building performance cars for about 10 years now and have always had the mentality "bikes suck, I would rather beat them on four wheels!"

I achieved that goal a few times in my RX7 and I just wasn't satisfied. The car scene here has really just turned to crap and no one really has anything appealing to me anymore except a select few vehicles. Anyhow, I just don't get a kick out of my car anymore no matter how fast it is and I keep dumping time and money in to it trying to achieve such outrageous goals. Well, I FINALLY got over myself and took a little test ride on my buddies CBR. Don't worry I've ridden dirt bikes many years ago and didn't just jump on something I had no clue how to ride hahaha. All I can say is that when I pulled back in to his driveway I couldn't get off of it.... just so much FUN! He tells me he's trying to sell it and we worked out a deal. The following day (today actually) I rode my first bike home!!!!

I haven't been this excited about something in a loooong time (I'm only 26 years old tho haha). It's a 99 CBR F4, yellow and black, 20k miles but has been well taken care of. I had a few of my bike buddies take a look over it and test ride it before I committed myself to the deal and they were all in shock at how nice it is for it's year. I got it for $3,000 which for around here is cheap! Most bikes of this same setup go for around $4,500 for some reason. I got it from the second owner but have had the privileage of meeting the original owner, an older fellow who races on road courses. This was his little daily bike and has seen nothing but Honda oil and proper maintenence.