New Member Area New to CBRForum? Stop in and introduce yourself.

CBR125R (2013), Sweden

Search this Thread

Old 03-26-2014, 01:06 AM
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Thumbs up CBR125R (2013), Sweden

Hello

I'm a 31 year old driver from Sweden, currently studying at a university so despite having a full license I went for the CBR125R, extremely economical bike that gets 80 - 100 MPG.

My previous bike was a Yamaha XS 400 (1982) that I got after taking my license 2008, mostly for starting my career and having a cheap bike that I would not mind doing rookie mistakes with.

Glad I did, never had any serious accidents, but I did drop it two times and had some issues with slippery roads. Also a classical bike is dirt cheap to insure in Sweden.

The CBR125R is more fun, has better response and even a higher top speed than the old 400, so the downgrade turned out to be an upgrade. Granted the XS had 30 years of wear and tear, so I'd assume it was far from its peak.

I drive about 140 km (est 86 miles) a day, 5 days a week so the mileage adds up quickly. The mileage on the bike means I have to fill her up twice a week, but it's still cheap. Used to go by train, but I was late to much, switched to the bike and have not been late once.

Does take a bit of mental strength to drive in rain and cold. Around zero is my limit, at this point. Considering driving next winter, but I will need heating for my hands and feet so that is something I'm currently looking at.

Have switched the lights to LEDs, except the dashboard and headlight. I did not buy new indicators, instead I ordered LED bulbs on eBay as replacement for the original bulbs. Also replaced the position lights with really powerful LEDs, they will really help me get noticed on the road compared to the crap original bulbs. And the license plate bulb and read/break bulb was also replaced.

Waiting for a headlight/high beam LED bulb (H4) that a friend will give me soon as he mounts his Xenon bulb on his bike.