New Member Area New to CBRForum? Stop in and introduce yourself.

cbr first time owner f2/f3

Search this Thread

Old 05-13-2013, 08:50 PM
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Smile cbr first time owner f2/f3

hello everyone, bought my first bike/cbr 600f its a 96 motor so im told with the body and 91 frame. bought her running and in decent shape for 600 bucks! Ive always wanted a gsxr but this was a deal i couldnt turn down. I have pics but im still learning the whole setup here. soo now about the bike I do need to do some work luckily im mechanically inclined ..... with cars ha. I know and understand carburators so thats a plus. When I went to pick up the bike it was no longer running and hadnt ran for a year. I took off the tank to find the vacuum line not hooked up and not allowing the plunger to open feeding her fuel. fixed and fired right up ....... first thing i notice on the bike is there is a yoshi exhuast.... sweet is it jetted? well as i ran it home with no brake lights or blinkers, which is now fixed, it felt very weak from 5 grand and up.... im sorry not weak but breaking up a lot .... carbs need to be synced im assuming? and also assuming it was never jetted?? it wants to go and take off but is breaking up as if it its not getting the gas flow it needs. also need to break down the carbs and clean them as soon as my jet kit comes in.... which i have yet to order because I would like know where the best location is for me to purchase one I dont have a lot of money so this is a semi budgeted rebuild/build. get the bike home runs great shut her off..... then start her back up, just kidding, she was completely dead ok pulled out my micrometer tested the battery ... dead. tested the stator good not great but not bad all lines at 2 ohm. check the regulator and its shot .... the plugs were melted into the unit itself dead give away so i stripped all the wires off the bike and bought a gsxr regulator for an 03 the plugs were semi identical and i read online somewhere it