New Member Area New to CBRForum? Stop in and introduce yourself.

brand new to motorcycle riding

Search this Thread

Old 02-02-2008, 07:15 PM
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default brand new to motorcycle riding

well...hello everyone. im new to all of this. new to the honda family...i just bought an 07 cbr600 today...not getting it til tomorrow. paperwork needs to be done.
let me tell you how i decided to buy a bike...

last year in june of 07...my best friend was killed on a bike in our hometown of queens newyork. it was devestating. i lost my best friend...ive known her for 10years. i have always wanted a bike..tho i have NEVER been on one until maybe 2 months ago. she was a passenger and she flew off...its a long story of the accident. after she died, i was against everything BIKE. whenever i saw a bike on the streets, my eyes would automatically tear.

my husband has had bikes in the past...and hes been wanting one for a while...well, dec 31st arrives and he said he found one in ft lauderdale...so i gave in and said okay...worried the crap out of me, but life does go on. i finally got to ride on a bike...it was tough to begin with...my eyes teared up...i felt as if i was with her...being passenger..her last moments. tough. but i closed my eyes as my husband rode, the wind hitting me, hearing me breathe hard in the helmet....i loved the ride...FINALLY. i felt at peace...she was there with me.

so....after that day...i wanted a bike, again.

today we walked into SunSports here in Fort Myers and i said...let's do it. so now im a proud owner of a 2007 honda cbr600. im stoked. now i havent rode one at all...never been actually riding the bike. crazy right?

now dont get me wrong, i WILL be taking the motorcycle course...i will be much better off with that course under my belt. i do want to learn on my own too....i will be learning tomorrow in a deserted parking lot. im getting frame sliders put on, JUST IN CASE. im not nervous. im fine....excited!!!