New Member Area New to CBRForum? Stop in and introduce yourself.

Another Newbie!

Search this Thread

Old 01-15-2010, 05:17 PM
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Another Newbie!

Been lurking a while and decided to join up. Looks like a great forum filled with great info and a helpful crew.

I don't have a bike yet so sorry if that's a no no here. I've been wanting a bike for well over a year now so its not some new idea that popped into my head 20 minutes ago. I'm looking for any cbr in the $3000ish range as long as it is taken care of. For some reason F3s have been calling to me lol. I'll be taking a MSF course sometime in the spring hopefully. I've got all the gear picked out...cause gotta wear it all the time. So far its full helmet, jacket, pants (not denim jeans), gloves, chest/back protector, and some riding boots. I like my skin on me and not on the road.

Yes, I'm new to the bike world, but I am eager to learn. I'll probably post more up later with questions.

The reason for a cbr over a yami r6? The yamis are cheaper around here and cheaper to insure. Still not good enough. I've had bad luck with yamaha motors running like poo or exploding...literally lol. I've been into the water skiing world my whole life. Maybe some of the Australians here might know what's going on with that. The motor on my personal boat is a Yamaha V6 with 225 hp. It likes to run at high rpms all day long, but have it anything lower than that its crap. I'm on a water ski team and one of the boats I drive has 2 (yeah 2) Yamaha 225 hp Vmax motors and they have been well maintained. I was going about 45 mph and the driver side one exploded. There was a fist sized hole in the block. Luckily the cover held in the shrapnel.
I've read the yami bikes have the same "feel" low power down low but makes up for it at high rpms. If they are consistent with the boat motors....no way do I want one. Honda FTW!

Sorry for the book.