New Member Area New to CBRForum? Stop in and introduce yourself.

another new guy thread

Old 06-17-2010, 06:17 PM
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default another new guy thread

Hey guys, just bought a 1990 cbr 600f today for my first real sportbike, and I am totally stoked! Couple of cracks in the fairings, but other than that it is in great shape. Has 12k on the clock with a new clutch and recent tune up, but the previous owner said I have to get the carbs synced and thats it.

I took it out for a quick whirl around the block tonight, and while it was under load and I gas it to at least 6-7k, it starts to bog down and sputter. But when I am giving it a little throttle, it revs just fine. More than likely its because the carbs aren't synced properly right?

Also while shifting through gears, it sorta feels like it it shifting a little too hard. Bad shift linkage? Then again, I am still a newbie to sportbikes, so I'm not sure if that is normal or not.

Anything else I should worry about with this particular bike?

Old 06-17-2010, 07:09 PM
Received 3 Likes on 3 Posts

Hey hey howdy! Welcome aboard!

Might swing into the CBR 600F section for bike specific questions. On the general tip I'd suggest finding the service manual (or asking the in 600F section), find out the maintenance schedule and assume none of its been done. Lot of things may clear up with getting the scheduled maintenance done. Definitely change all the fluids (oil / brake / coolant).

Old 06-17-2010, 07:54 PM
Administrator, MVN / ROTM NOV 2012

Welcome to the forum, first off I'd give her the once over , new oil filter, air filter, plugs etc ...drop a little carb cleaner in the tank run it through it.

no matter what the PO said ..... don't forget he was the seller .....! meaning they say that to make it sound better for selling.
He/she may not have done a thing in years !

A carb sync is in any event always a good move no matter what.

Old 06-17-2010, 10:08 PM
Administrator - Retired