General Tech Good at troubleshooting? Have a non specific issue? Discuss general tech topics here.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

what to do for winter?????

Search this Thread

Old 10-12-2006, 08:45 AM
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default what to do for winter?????

This is my first year with the bike, and its getting close to that time to pack it up for winter. what does everyone due to get there bikes ready for winter??? Gas, tires, battery, oil, ect???? thanks

Old 10-12-2006, 11:22 AM
Default RE: what to do for winter?????

put away for winter??? just ride it come rain or snow, ice sometimes makes me think twice, especially when i'm sitting on cold tarmac with my bike sliding away from me.

It's all part of lifes rich tapestry... and makes you a better rider.

Old 10-12-2006, 06:35 PM

the bike shop told me the best thing they found was to put about 2 gallons of race fuel in it and store it with the fuel in it..... and not to use additives.. i have never heard of that before but thats what i am doing.

Old 10-12-2006, 06:55 PM

Heres what I do.

-Fill it up to the top with fuel
-Put it on stands so the tires dont get flat spots
-Plug intake and exhaust from the rodents
-Start it once a month/retop off tank with gas

H

Old 10-12-2006, 10:43 PM

I know that the fuel system is probably one of the most critical to get right so everything doesnt crystalize. Now I have a buddy who swears by this: aviation gas. I guess it makes sense to get your tank fairly empty dump a gal or two of av-gas in there and let it sit. I guess it makes sense because it has such a high octane rating and will not crystalize under anything but the worst of circumstances.

Any thoughts on this and other tips that anyone else has found helpful?

Old 10-12-2006, 10:52 PM

some online info i found that might help:

Winter motorcycle storage first requires winterizing the motorcycle