General Tech Good at troubleshooting? Have a non specific issue? Discuss general tech topics here.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

My Hurricane is poorly :(

Search this Thread

Old 08-10-2013, 10:55 AM
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Thumbs down My Hurricane is poorly :(

Where to start with this one ....... had the bike about a month, bought off E-Bay. Basically it had an intermittent problem with the clutch safety cut out. The guy said it was slight corrosion on one of the terminals and a quick clean would sort it out. Occasionally when you started the bike and put it in gear it would stall. Give that clutch safety lead a waggle and problem solved. To be fair, it only did that once. The bigger problem I noticed was how hot the bike is running. More than once I would pull up at lights and she just cut out. Then, yesterday she stopped and has refused to start ever since.

I have a mechanic friend and he has been working on it. I am NOT a mechanic but watched him disassemble the clutch lever assembly and test the switch. He pulled out a spark plug and tested it for a spark .... nothing. Tried new plugs ..... nothing. I think he said the temperature sender unit? was probably knackered but he thinks it could be the ECU, which we can't test?

The bike turns over strongly but does not fire.

I appreciate this is a crappy explanation but was wondering if you guys could give me some suggestions for other things to check when a bike won't start.

The fuel gauge and temperature gauge flick about all over the place?

Could it be the stator? I'm hoping it isn't

Last edited by Heff; 08-10-2013 at 12:57 PM.
Old 08-10-2013, 03:46 PM
Super Moderator
Received 29 Likes on 20 Posts

G'day Heff,

Welcome to the CBR Forum

Firstly it would be good if you filled in your profile so we knew where you were.

Secondly, size/year of bike, whether it is a 600, 750 or 1000 Hurricane (most common to use the name) and what year would be nice as well!