General Tech Good at troubleshooting? Have a non specific issue? Discuss general tech topics here.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

help...please...brake issue!

Search this Thread

Old 12-17-2007, 09:53 AM
Registered Users
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default help...please...brake issue!

alright let me preface this by saying i am not an idiot...(some may disagree, but i am not)...

i just put on my SS lines and my powdercoated calipers (which are not f'd to some degree)....

i went to finally re-fill and bleed my brakes this weekend and it was a f'ing disaster....i have learned a few things and am still stumped about others...now i have never done brakes before but i have read about 1000 tutorials on it so i thought i had it pretty much down....but this is how it went this weekend...

first did the rear....hooked up the mityvac to the bleeder....created some preseure...had my buddy start filling brake fluid...within a matter of about 30 seconds...i was pulling clean fluid....closed the bleeder....topped off the res...pushed the rear brake lever (althought a little soft), brake engaged...was up on the rear stand at this point...thought i was done....left it alone...went to front...

front...HORRIBLE....anyways....started to prime the right...could NOT get pure fluid without bubbles...after 30 minutes...gave up....closed the bleeder and went to the other side....there....30 seconds and nice pure dot4 coming out of the mity vac...closed up the bleeder....went back to other side...STILL FRICKIN BUBBLES....after about an hour...realized that the bleed screw must be letting in air...went and got some teflon tape....put it around the bleeder threads and screwed it back in....HUZZAH!!! suddenly i could maintain vaccum and got a nice smooth flow pulling out of the caliper....

now here's the crappy thing...i THINK i know what it is going on but i need confirmation and/or guidance...