General Tech Good at troubleshooting? Have a non specific issue? Discuss general tech topics here.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Help me please. Not starting...

Search this Thread

Old 05-11-2008, 01:13 AM
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Help me please. Not starting...

Hi guys, i don't own a CBR trying to fix a mates one. I'm an apprentice mechanic for Audi, drive an rx7.

The Problem:
Mate was riding the bike(an 89 CBR 250cc, if you need to know more ask)and it just cut out, ie. stopped running. Now when you turn the key, the lights come on(the oil light i think it is, and the green ready?)and everything, but when you press to start the engine, nothing happens. So far i've checked the connections all in the front end, haven't pulled the entire chassis off yet, clean the connections with rust off ect, also checked the fuses and they all seemed fine. What could it be?

Thanks for any help guys.

Old 05-11-2008, 03:21 AM
Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default RE: Help me please. Not starting...

Have you checked out the battery, The regulator being RS (not charging the battery). (The green light is the Neutral Indicator), He hasn't hit the kill switch by mistake?. Maybe the bike was originally from Sydney & can't stand Melbourne traffic . There is a European section that has the 125's & the 250's that could be more specific for your problem. Good luck

Old 05-11-2008, 03:26 AM

HAHA Nah it's all good now man, yeah i forgot to say i checked the battery. Found out it's a vacuum leak, one of the vac hoses had those crappy clamps and had dropped off. So all good now, $100 for fixing a vac leak.

And i can honestly say Syd drivers are worse than Melb. I go sydney one week a month for work, and the drivers there are shocking. Weaving between lanes, cutting off people, indicating after changing lanes. Scary stuff. :S Melbourne just has stupid drivers, not bad ones. LOL

Old 05-11-2008, 07:35 AM