General Tech Good at troubleshooting? Have a non specific issue? Discuss general tech topics here.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Female needs help cleaning a chain!!!!

Search this Thread

Old 07-26-2007, 03:18 PM
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Female needs help cleaning a chain!!!!

Can someone give the safest instruction on how to clean a chain. Remember I am a noob at this. Please as many details as possible!!!! Maybe I can teach my husband. HAHAHA

Old 07-26-2007, 03:24 PM
Default RE: Female needs help cleaning a chain!!!!

I usually place my bike up on my rear stand and use a tool called a grunge brush. It comes with its own cleaner and basically just place the tool on the chain and slowly spin the tire. Works great! The grunge brush is only like $15

Old 07-26-2007, 03:26 PM

if you have a rear stand it will be real easy.
when i cleaned my chain i just used a golf rag i had and some kerosene.. get the rag wet, then just scrub the chain to get the sides, o rings, grooves.. every where. if u havea rear stand you can spin the rear wheel freely.. if not then push the bike forward to get a diff section of the chain. or get some one to tip the bike on the side stand so the rear tire is off the ground and spin it that way.
once its all cleaned up, wipe it down once more and let it air dry for a few minutes.. then spray it with your chain lube or wax.

and it helps to ride the bike before cleaning the chain( according to my chain wax can) a short ride around a couple blocks should be good.
and i also cleaned the chain slide of the grease and grime build up as well as the sprokects just so its shiney.

Old 07-26-2007, 03:49 PM

+1 on the kerosene. Depending on how dirty your chain is, one rag should do. If your chain is as dirty as mine was, multiple rags will be needed. A toothbrush is quite effective as well. After you've cleaned the chain, spray on some chain lube/wax and you're all set. Good luck!

Old 07-26-2007, 10:25 PM