General Tech Good at troubleshooting? Have a non specific issue? Discuss general tech topics here.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

electrical

Search this Thread

Old 01-14-2006, 09:41 PM
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default electrical

i'm thinking of attempting some custom lighting on my bike, not real sure that i'll follow through with it you know one of those touch and go projects, but if i were to commit to it does anyone have a good idea as to where i could tap into for a good power source without screwing up any other wiring, i am not good with wiring so i'm hoping for a simple tap in and posibly something i could remove and not have long term issues with glitches...thanks

Old 01-15-2006, 12:41 AM
Retired Administrator
Default RE: electrical

Where are you thinking of putting lights at. If you can... stick with LED add ons. Bikes don't come with a lot of extra amperage to share.

You can do one of two things and not have to modify the factory wiring. You can add a fuse panel and run a power lead straight from the battery to power it. You can buy them at a lot of places that have CB radios. Those freaks are always modding their radios.

And the second one... you can use a fuse tap if you're only doing a few add ons. The fuse tap works by pulling an existing fuse out, slipping a brass/copper metal sleeve around the tab on the fuse and putting the fuse back in. Make sure you use a test light to see which side is the live side on the fuse that way the power still has a fuse. If you use the fuse tap on the power side... and the fuse blows... the add ons will still have power.

Again, stay with LEDs because they do not heat up and use next to nothing when it comes to power/amperage.

Here's are pics of what I'm talking about... you can guess which is which.

[IMG]local://upfiles/1936/43BF0831B61B470BABBBCEC7C3167CF8.jpg[/IMG]

[IMG]local://upfiles/1936/B72ABC1BE83C422CA9566E7D04B6B41D.jpg[/IMG]

Old 01-15-2006, 12:59 PM