General Tech Good at troubleshooting? Have a non specific issue? Discuss general tech topics here.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Crack repair

Search this Thread

Old 06-17-2009, 11:04 PM
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Crack repair

I have a crack on one side of my tail fairing from the previous owner. It is not super noticeable but I have noticed it get a bit bigger this year so I figure I should repair it before it gets any worse. What is the best way to repair a crack in the plastics? I assume some sort of fiberglass from the back? Any tips? I have never worked with fiberglass before and have no idea what I am looking to buy.

Thanks.

Old 06-18-2009, 08:54 AM
Official CBRF Welcome Crew Undercover Agent
Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Wink

Yeah, fiberglass works good. I've had to use it on my fairings in a couple of places as reinforcement to prevent developing cracks from growing. Placed it on the inside like you mentioned, and it's held up very well; no complaints. Make sure you scuff up the plastic and get all the paint off the repair area before applying the fiberglass for a good bond.
As with the fiberglass, I got mine at Home Depot (Elmer's brand), although any self-respecting hardware store ought to carry it. You're basically going to need the fiberglass cloth, resin, and the hardener. All of them will be next to each other at the store. Follow the directions PRECISELY, if you don't, you may botch the whole job (very messy). You can practice with it before you commence on the actual repair, to see how it behaves.

Old 06-18-2009, 08:57 AM

Here's a picture ~ inside of the rear fairing:
Name:  IMG_0856.jpg
Views: 342
Size:  92.9 KB

Old 06-18-2009, 01:51 PM
Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts

On my to do list for my trackday set.

http://search.harborfreight.com/cpis...weld&Submit=Go

Old 06-18-2009, 04:34 PM