General Tech Good at troubleshooting? Have a non specific issue? Discuss general tech topics here.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Changing Brakes!! What type?

Search this Thread

Old 07-03-2009, 01:39 AM
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Changing Brakes!! What type?

Hello everyone,

I am new to this fourm, I recently bought a 2003 cbr 600 and I was wonder what type of brakes would be best on the bike. I am very new to working on motorcycles so if someone could post a link for brakes that would work on a 2003 cbr 600 It would help out a ton. Also, Is there different types of brakes for different riding styles.( ex:stunting, racing ect.)

Any help is help Thanks!!

Ride safe.

Old 07-04-2009, 06:49 PM
Default MANY types of brake pads on the aftermarket...

There are MANY types of brake pads on the aftermarket. The OEM pads are best, IMHO. There are MANY sources on the Web. These guys have GREAT prices http://www.cyclepartsnation.com/

Old 07-05-2009, 12:49 AM

I agree, stock is the way to go. If your a track a holic, then a race pad would be better. But, keep in mind that "race" doesnt always transfer to the street in a good way. With brakes, race pads transfer less heat into the caliper, which helps keep the brakes cooler and fade less, but they also require heat for them to start working like they should. On the street, you will never be on the brakes enough to get the heat into the pads, so you will have brakes that don't grab like they should.

Go with oem type pads.

Old 07-06-2009, 04:31 PM

All i know, is i just changed my rear pads, and SBS pads suck. On the other hand, i replaced my front pads a week ago, with (i forget the brand name) but they were Sport HH++ pads, and they are A-May-ZING.

Old 07-06-2009, 04:50 PM