General Tech Good at troubleshooting? Have a non specific issue? Discuss general tech topics here.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

CBR 900rr issues

Search this Thread

Old 08-29-2012, 06:17 PM
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default CBR 900rr issues

I have a 1995 Cbr900rr and cant get the bike to turn over at all. Any ideas what it could be ?

Im new to working on bikes so be patient with me. Hahaha

Old 08-29-2012, 06:51 PM

Does it spin or nothing does it click please explain a little more then we can go from there.

Old 08-29-2012, 07:16 PM

Dead battery

Old 08-29-2012, 07:27 PM

Does anything come on when you turn on the key.. dash lights, headlight etc? Sounds like a dead battery but need more information

Old 08-30-2012, 05:58 PM

Ok Lets see...every thing comes on lights, gauges, neutral light...my guess its flooded because ive been told that this model floods easily. when i turn the key on everythying comes on. Its not the battery. When i go to start it it trys to start but doesnt turn over. Its not the starter. Has a brand new rectifier and fuel petcock on it. Could it be the stator?

Old 08-30-2012, 10:16 PM

Well if it floods and you filled the cylinders up it will not turn over is there gas in the oil?
Liquids will not compress well much have you pulled the plugs and checked them are they wet?

Old 08-30-2012, 11:31 PM

If it's cranking over but not starting it is probably either a lack of spark or fuel delivery issue. If it has enough power to crank the engine it's not the stator. The stator produces a/c voltage which is converted to d/c voltage by the regulator to charge the battery while the bike is running.

First things I would do is pull a plug wire out and check for spark. If you have spark it's probably a fuel delivery issue. Quick way to check for that is to spray some carb cleaner or starting fluid into the carb intakes & try to start it. If it fires you have a problem in the fuel delivery system.

Old 08-31-2012, 06:35 PM