General Tech Good at troubleshooting? Have a non specific issue? Discuss general tech topics here.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

carbs & mechanics (rebuild)

Search this Thread

Old 07-21-2011 | 07:21 PM
|
Default carbs & mechanics (rebuild)

Took my 1996 CBR1000F to the mechanic today. They say shes only running on two cylinders most of the time, vacume hoses are cracked, intake boots need to be replaced, it needs a full rebuild. Parts & labor is only $910.47. Can anyone tell me what a new set of carbs cost? I think this is a little expensive. I'm not a mechanic, but it looks like I better become one. Help !!!!

Old 07-21-2011 | 09:06 PM
Administrator - Retired

$910 is a lot. I wouldn't think the boots would need replaced on a '96, either. I would try to seal everything first.
As for the carbs... it really depends on you. The hardest part is probably getting them off/on the bike and that's still not too bad. Then you just need to clean them up (internally) and see if there are any parts that need replaced.
Vacuum lines are cheap and you can find them at just about any parts store. Just get the size you need and replace them.

Old 07-21-2011 | 09:19 PM
Administrator, MVN / ROTM NOV 2012

other way is to grab a set on Ebay maybe in the 120 to 250 range depending on year
and condition ...... that way you have a practice set and lots of parts

Old 07-21-2011 | 10:06 PM
Administrator - Retired

Sucks you're not closer, JC. I'd go over your carbs for a 6-pack of Pabst.

Old 07-21-2011 | 10:17 PM
MZ5

Maybe I'm supposed to assume more than I did. You make it sound like all the ancillary hoses and tubes need to be replaced. Replacing the carbs won't replace any of that. $910 sounds positively exhorbitant, but I suppose I don't know what Honda wants for the set.

Old 07-21-2011 | 10:41 PM
Banned