General Tech Good at troubleshooting? Have a non specific issue? Discuss general tech topics here.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

98 cbr 600 f3 known problems?

Search this Thread

Old 08-04-2010, 01:37 AM
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default 98 cbr 600 f3 known problems?

I'm thinking about getting a 98 600 f3... only problem is the milage... 30k miles..seems like a bit much... guy is letting it go for 1500 but "needs carbs cleaned" "cranks but wont run" everything seems to need their carbs cleaned an awful lot ....seems like a generic cop out to *well it runs rough....* wondering what the normal breaking point is where everything just seems to fall a part... i know it greatly depends on the rider and how badly it was abused but....any known inherent problems with them? i work on cars for a living and know certain makes/models are known for certain problems and know about the expected longevity of the vehicle based on make/model/year. wondering if thats the same on certain models of bikes..

Not exactly sure this is a good choice considering the milage and cant hear the engine run....nor test drive it.. so i figured this would be a good place to start asking guestions.

Old 08-04-2010, 02:09 AM
Received 1 Like on 1 Post

My F3 has run like a watch since I got it new in 98. I've had the reg replaced of course, as that seems to be the most common fault. If a bike is running rough (any bike) then a carb clean may help, but certainly won't fix what is basically a carbi balance & tune.
You have to maintain the air filter, if dirty can contribute greatly to it's state of tune & the F3 has an inline fuel filter which sometimes needs to be replaced depending on the condition of the tank internals & quality of fuel used.
Valves have to be done at 18000kays (12000 miles) which is often neglected if the previous owner was going to sell it on.
30000 clicks is not a lot if the bike has been maintained, any bike can be totally stuffed at half that if treated badly.