General Tech Good at troubleshooting? Have a non specific issue? Discuss general tech topics here.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

1987 CBR600F Rectifier question

Search this Thread

Old 05-01-2007, 07:20 PM
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default 1987 CBR600F Rectifier question

Hello, I am new to the forums and to riding in general. I have a 1987 CBR600F that has a bad rectifier. I have ordered a new one but I don't know if it is going to arrive in time for a ride I was planning on taking this Saturday. The ride will be about 1 hr one way, long break for lunch and fun, then approx. 1 hr back.

Here's the question: How horribly bad would it be to either:

A) Ride without the rectifier hooked up?

or

B) Ride with the rectifier hooked up, even though its not doing anything.

I'm also new to playing mechanic so I'm not sure of the ramifications of running without a functioning rectifier.

I plan to trickle charge the bike during lunch, if its even safe to ride it.

Thanks for your time, this is a really nice forum for a newbie and CBR rider.

Old 05-01-2007, 07:55 PM
Default RE: 1987 CBR600F Rectifier question

I wouldn't ride that long without the rectifier. It causes your coil to work off of just your battery alone. You will run fine for about 30 minutes according to my recent experience, and then your bike will gradually run worse as the voltage on your battery drops then die. If you do decide to chance running like that, unplug your stator, as a bad rectifier could make your stator go bad. You don't want to replace that also.

Old 05-01-2007, 07:56 PM

Thanks for the info. I guess I will just have to hope that the rectifier comes in time and that it was the actual problem.

Old 05-01-2007, 08:21 PM

I have a post on here from last week on how to check it, one of the guys were nice enough to send it to me and it diagnosed my problem. My rectifier was fried and my wiring was bad causing it to fry. I will post a link to the topic.

Old 05-01-2007, 08:26 PM

Here is one