Forum Help & Suggestion Center Need help with CBR Forum? Ask. Have a suggestion to better CBRF? Tell us here. DO NOT POST QUESTIONS ABOUT YOUR BIKE HERE.

Forum icon

  #1  
Old 05-04-2010, 11:46 AM
R Dub's Avatar
October 2011 ROTM
Thread Starter
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Burbs of Chicago
Posts: 1,340
Default Forum icon

I use Mozilla Firefox and every time I go to a big name website they have there icon up by the address bar. For example when I go to ESPN.com they have a big red E up there. I was thinking it may be cool to get a CBR icon up there when I visit this site(which is a lot) rather than it showing a blank white sheet of paper. I have no idea how hard this might be. just my
 
  #2  
Old 05-04-2010, 03:09 PM
Shadow's Avatar
Redcoat, & Maxwell's Silver Hammer, MVN and curmudgeon
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Mud hut, Zululand
Posts: 11,614
Default

You can have the logo if you want - just turn off your no script
It'll slow your response times down a lot.
You'll end up with about 50 scripts jumping up every time you go anywhere.
I'd leave it be if I were you.
 
  #4  
Old 05-04-2010, 10:53 PM
regener8ed's Avatar
Super Moderator and Official Welcome Crew Yeti
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Souf Cackilack
Posts: 2,066
Default

what he's referring to has nothing to do with scripting. it's called a favorites icon, and all the website owner has to do is stick an icon (16x16 bitmap) in the site root folder named "favicon.ico" and the rest is automagic.
this icon is also used in your browser bookmarks to help make the links stand out and be more easily identifiable.

for example:
 

Last edited by regener8ed; 06-19-2010 at 11:34 AM. Reason: for example...
  #5  
Old 05-05-2010, 04:03 PM
R Dub's Avatar
October 2011 ROTM
Thread Starter
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Burbs of Chicago
Posts: 1,340
Default

regener8ed you would be correct. Just wondering if there was anyway to make this happen. Thanks!
 
  #7  
Old 05-06-2010, 11:01 AM
nivlacf4i's Avatar
Junior Member
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Chicago NW Burbs
Posts: 5
Default



Where are you Chainstretcher?!?!
 
  #8  
Old 05-07-2010, 05:46 PM
chainstretcher's Avatar
Admin Emeritus & MVN
Join Date: Jan 2000
Location: Conyers, GA
Posts: 6,908
Default

I run Firefox on the home puters and CBRF is set up for a favicon ...



See the little dude in the red leaned way over on the black CBR? Can't help you with IE cause it sux. So if you're running Firefox it should show up o.k. for you.
 
  #9  
Old 05-11-2010, 10:48 AM
R Dub's Avatar
October 2011 ROTM
Thread Starter
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Burbs of Chicago
Posts: 1,340
Default

Hey chainstretcher it is still not working for me. if I'm the only one it doesn't work for I guess I will just live with it.
 
  #10  
Old 05-11-2010, 12:11 PM
Senior Member
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 217
Default

ya it doesn't work for me either....using chrome browser
 

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Quick Reply: Forum icon


Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service

© 2019 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands

We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.