F4i - Main Forum Main F4i discussion board

WTF Cluster?

  #1  
Old 02-10-2011, 01:05 PM
I Can't Sell Because I'm Hardheaded
Thread Starter
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 268
Default WTF Cluster?

Cluster stopped working MINUS the N switch light.
When the power if off the FI light lights dimly, and two dashes ... well here is a pic...

Bike running... NOTHING works, just the N switch light.

Name:  d86b3310.jpg
Views: 42
Size:  75.4 KB

Any Ideas?

I've pulled the wiring harness apart and no wiring issues.... Doesn't make sense....
 
  #2  
Old 02-10-2011, 02:01 PM
jeffjones's Avatar
Welcome Crew and May 2012 Ride of the Month
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Kitchener, Ontario
Posts: 1,564
Default

Have you done any electrical work lately?
or has the gauge ever been taken apart?
Has the bike been dropped recently?
 
  #3  
Old 02-10-2011, 02:11 PM
I Can't Sell Because I'm Hardheaded
Thread Starter
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 268
Default

Bike has been dropped in the past but issue is recent. gauge gets 12v from battery and ignition wire. Ground wire is solid too.

Not too sure... almost seemed like a short somewhere...

wish I had another cluster to test it out with.
 
  #4  
Old 02-10-2011, 02:25 PM
redzintimidator's Avatar
Senior Member
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Greene, NY
Posts: 2,950
Default

check for squished wires. If you know anyone else with an f4i willing to test your cluster on their bike do that. if not i can do it if you dont figure something out in the meantime.

Check your resistance in the ground wire plug direct from the cluster plug, to the battery.
shake your cluster, see if anything sounds like its floating around in there.

Have you taken it apart yet?
 
  #5  
Old 02-10-2011, 02:39 PM
jp_greenville13's Avatar
Senior Member
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Rockford, MI
Posts: 1,541
Default

If you've got a good ground and a good power source I'm gussing something got hot (or otherwise failed) internally.

I'd take it apart and have a look at the PCB's and let us know what you find
 
  #6  
Old 02-10-2011, 03:07 PM
I Can't Sell Because I'm Hardheaded
Thread Starter
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 268
Default

I'll rip the cluster apart right now, ground resistance is good though. Well multimeter shows it as good
 
  #7  
Old 02-10-2011, 03:21 PM
I Can't Sell Because I'm Hardheaded
Thread Starter
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 268
Default

I don't even know how this is possible.

But I FOUND the issue!

Name:  38228fa3.jpg
Views: 44
Size:  181.7 KB\\


One of the plugs came out! lol
 
  #8  
Old 02-10-2011, 03:44 PM
nowensby's Avatar
Senior Member
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Columbia, SC
Posts: 423
Default

That looks like that may be a slight problem...

WTG on finding the issue... Hopefully plugging it back in will solve it.
 
  #9  
Old 02-10-2011, 03:50 PM
redzintimidator's Avatar
Senior Member
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Greene, NY
Posts: 2,950
Default

ok guys i believe i have found how to fix this with the newest information provided by OP. You will need to plug in the connector to its socket on the board. That should do the trick.

If not, throw in garbage. You dont need to know how fast you are going anyways.
 
  #10  
Old 02-10-2011, 05:17 PM
I Can't Sell Because I'm Hardheaded
Thread Starter
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 268
Default

YEP! FIXED THE ISSUE!


no idea how that would come out, but it did.
 

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Quick Reply: WTF Cluster?


Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service

© 2019 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands

We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.