F4i - Main Forum Main F4i discussion board

What Power Commander map do I use?

  #1  
Old 03-11-2019, 10:21 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Mar 2019
Posts: 31
Default What Power Commander map do I use?

I got an 06 cbr600 f4i with a Coffman slip on exhaust. Pretty loud, has a baffle but its short, power commander doesnt have a base map for this so does anyone know of an exhaust that is close enough to the coffman that they do have a map for?
 
  #2  
Old 03-11-2019, 10:54 AM
CaBaRet's Avatar
Super Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2016
Location: UK
Posts: 2,051
Default

have you tried the exhaust out on the bike without the PC fitted first, and let the ECU learn a map ,then put the PC on and see if it helps ,
 
  #3  
Old 03-11-2019, 11:38 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Mar 2019
Posts: 31
Default

Originally Posted by CaBaRet View Post
have you tried the exhaust out on the bike without the PC fitted first, and let the ECU learn a map ,then put the PC on and see if it helps ,

what do you mean let it learn it? Isnt that what a power commander autotune does? I donít have one
 
  #4  
Old 03-11-2019, 11:46 AM
CaBaRet's Avatar
Super Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2016
Location: UK
Posts: 2,051
Default

PC piggybacks the ECU
 
  #5  
Old 03-11-2019, 12:02 PM
CaBaRet's Avatar
Super Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2016
Location: UK
Posts: 2,051
Default

You can always send your ECU away to be flashed , or just get a Dyno run ,but it will cost
 
  #6  
Old 03-11-2019, 12:15 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Mar 2019
Posts: 31
Default

Originally Posted by CaBaRet View Post
PC piggybacks the ECU

so I havent hooked it up yet but in theory when I hook up the pc itll hopefully adjust the air fuel ratio on its own with the coffman exhaust on?
 
  #7  
Old 03-11-2019, 12:41 PM
CaBaRet's Avatar
Super Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2016
Location: UK
Posts: 2,051
Default

Should to a certain extent but the basic map in the ecu is a constant , a reflash of the ECU is best , which is what the Dyno run will do, but that is expensive, There are different types like Baazazz, have a look through all that is available to get the right thing for your bike, its worth the investigation first , dont rush into it, its your engines life we are talking about, Do you have an O2 sensor fitted
 
  #8  
Old 03-12-2019, 02:58 AM
CaBaRet's Avatar
Super Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2016
Location: UK
Posts: 2,051
Default

Have a look at this
https://bazzaz.net/fuel-control/z-fi-fuel-controller/
Couldnt find a Reflash ECU service for the 600f4i
 

Last edited by CaBaRet; 03-12-2019 at 03:20 AM.
  #9  
Old 03-12-2019, 07:08 PM
Senior Member
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Mesa AZ
Posts: 1,998
Default

With just a slip on you don't even need a power commander. A basic internet map will do nothing to help. Either get it tuned with a dyno to help with throttle response and what not or don't worry about it and leave it alone. But you can literally run 50,000+ miles with a slip on and no power commander as I did and be totally fine.
 
Related Topics
Thread
Thread Starter
Forum
Replies
Last Post
joe-4422
CBR 929RR
6
04-07-2009 09:47 AM
GRUNT_Jarksbro
F4i - Main Forum
1
03-27-2006 02:39 PM
GRUNT_Jarksbro
Off Topic
0
03-27-2006 12:31 PM
nxfedlt1
F4i - Main Forum
0
01-15-2006 09:11 PM


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Quick Reply: What Power Commander map do I use?


Advertising
Featured Sponsors
Vendor Directory

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service

© 2019 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands

We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.